off with the hair

Standard

So if you follow me on Facebook, you already know that I shaved my head about a week ago.  And believe it or not, it was so much fun!  Once again, Valena the awesome hairdresser to the rescue!  I got one last fabulous shampoo and scalp massage, and then a mohawk, just for kicks.

Image

 

Am I badass, or what?  (Yes, mom, I just said badass.  Sorry about that…not really.)

Image

I’m thinking I just might go with the rock star look when my hair starts to grow back.

So now my shower time is cut in half – no more rinsing out conditioner for days.  And no more handfuls of hair!  It’s still coming out, but it’s not nearly as noticeable now.  It just looks a little patchy.  We shaved it down to a 1, which is the shortest guard on the clippers.  Here it is:

Image

That’s Valena.  Is it just me, or are all these awesome women in my life gorgeous?  (If you are an awesome woman in my life that’s reading this right now, that includes you.  You are gorgeous.)

And I must say, bald Kristi is not too shabby either.  I though shaving my head would be a lesson in humility, but it has turned out instead to be a reminder that we are all so much more than our outward appearances.  It has reminded me, yet again, of the astounding kindness of the human spirit; so much love and solidarity has been poured out to me by both people I know and people I don’t know.  That has been the true lesson in humility for me: the reminder that we are commanded to love our neighbors as ourselves.  There have been many times in the past when I have not done so.  But instead of punishing me for those lapses, God has heaped His love on me tenfold through all of you.  This may sound funny, but I think getting cancer has actually strengthened my faith.  It has certainly showed me that the world is still a beautiful place, full of wonderful people.  You people.

3 responses »

  1. I have been praying for a more positive perspective. Thank you for showing me how it’s done! AND your writing style? Well. FABulous! 😃 Love it! Love your hair! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

