because I’m all about that hair, ’bout that hair

Standard

Kristi with mohawk

 

Check me out, friends!  See that tiny little mohawk?  I grew that all by myself!  And those eyebrows, too!  And even those tiny little lashes.  I’m fuzzy all over again.  It looks a little weird, and my skin doesn’t feel all smooth like a baby’s butt anymore, but I’ll take it.  The bald spots on my head are filling in and I actually had to use a razor the other day.  On my legs, not my head.  It’s the little things, right?

So you know how I used to complain about how awful it was to not have nose hairs, especially coupled with frequent bloody noses?  Well, thankfully, the bloody noses are gone with the Adriamycin, but I have found something worse that bald nostrils.  Ingrown hairs.  INSIDE my nose.  How on earth does a girl exfoliate in there?  She doesn’t.  So I put some Clearasil on a Q-tip and stuck it up there and that worked.  Much better after a few days.  But I hope my doctor doesn’t read this – she probably wouldn’t be very happy with me for sticking things up my nose.  There’s no good way to sterilize a Q-tip.  Now you are all picturing me with a Q-tip up my nose, aren’t you?  My work here is done.

Seriously, though, this healing thing is harder than I thought it would be.  You see, I still have to take it EASY.  No strenuous working out yet (serious fatigue issues still), no long periods of time on my feet or sitting at my desk (swelling in my feet and legs – a fun new thing), and no staying up late doing homework (because I can’t seem to function on less than 9 hours of sleep).  I know, I know…I spent 6 months doing chemo, so it’s going to take at least 6 months to get over it, but really…ain’t nobody got time for that.  I have lessons to plan (teaching The Hobbit right now – so excited!).  I have a Master’s thesis to write.  I have lunches to pack.  I have a crap-ton of weight to lose…man, I need a nap just thinking about all this stuff.

But there is good news – I do NOT have a blood clot.  What?!  Blood clot?  Yeah, I know…I didn’t say anything about this, so I’m sure my mom’s getting mad at me right now (hi, mom), but the swelling in my feet was pretty bad.  And it was worse on one side than the other, which can be indicative of a blood clot.  So my doctor sent me for an ultrasound on both legs and another echo and everything seems fine.  Just lots of extra lymph fluid.  Maybe it’s because I actually have white blood cells now.  Maybe they all threw a party in my feet and had hangovers and puked lymph fluid everywhere…

On the plus side, I’ve now lost count of all the doctors and techs I’ve taken my clothes off for, so I think it’s safe to say my modesty has gone out the window.  If you went to college with me, you can stop laughing now.  I really did have some, you know.  Being a teacher made me a little bit prude-y.  At least that’s what Bobby says.  But I have mooned (bone marrow biopsy) and flashed (mammograms and echocardiograms) and walked around pantsless (surgeries and leg ultrasounds) and worn low-cut shirts (easy port access) so much lately that I think he can no longer accuse me of being a prude.  At least not at the doctor’s office.

But I do still wear clothes to teach.  You know, ’cause I like my job.  And I want to keep it.

3 responses »

  1. I have not written on here because I honestly have had no clue what to say. I know, strange coming from a known “talker”! I have been heartbroken and want to be “positive” for you at same time. So proud of you though and want you to know it. I can’t imagine what it has been like for you but can ask for healing from God for you. I love you and you are always on my mind! Love you, Aunt Becky

Leave a Reply

