brentuximab

Standard

Tomorrow will be my second round of this new chemo drug, brentuximab.  I get an IV infusion of it every three weeks.  This one has been a bit rough.  It’s the first chemo I’ve done that really made me nauseated.  I’ve spent the better part of the past three weeks throwing up and eating very little.  But Monday we doubled my Zofran dose and I also got an anti-nausea patch to wear.  SO much better.  I’ve vomited much less and have been eating much better.  Hopefully this means I will be less dehydrated and won’t have to spend quite so much time at clinic getting fluids and electrolytes.  At any rate, I feel better.  That’s worth a lot.

On Monday morning, I also got my central line catheter removed.  I still have my port to use for chemo and IV fluids, but now my risk of infection is much lower without three lumens hanging out of my chest.  I will probably have to have another one placed, but not for a while.

So the plan moving forward is to do about 3 rounds of brentuximab and then radiation if necessary.  We will keep trying chemo drugs until we find one that works on these stubborn spots.  Once we get rid of the stubborn spots, we will look at doing an allogenic stem cell transplant to ensure that the cancer doesn’t return.  I’ll share more info about that process as I get it.  That’s it for now – not a whole lot going on except watching and waiting.  Thanks for the many prayers and kind thoughts – they are helping!

3 responses »

  1. My brave sweet friend, you are an inspiration to me! Miss you!!! Prayers still coming every day for you and family.

  2. I want you to know how much you are loved. I say a prayer for you every day and know God is watching over you and is with you. If I can do anything for you or the family, please do not hesitate to let me know. I will make myself available.

Leave a Reply

