freedom tastes like lettuce

Standard

Hello lovelies!

I feel like I’ve re-entered the land of the living.  I’ve been released from the BMT docs at Northside back to my regular oncologist for a couple of months.  I will do a few more rounds of brentuximab with Dr. McDonald and her crew, and then radiation if necessary.  Once we get rid of these stubborn spots, I’ll do an allogeneic stem cell transplant to make sure the cancer doesn’t return.  Allogeneic means I’ll have an outside donor.  Right now we’re testing my brothers and looking through the registry for a match.  I’m hoping this takes a while because I need some time to wrap my brain around another transplant.

But back to my release.  I had my central line catheter removed from my chest.  I’m allowed to drive again.  I can have grown-up, non-sick visitors.  I still can’t go anywhere public, but I can eat whatever I want!  This means I can have salad again!  And I have had salad every single day since being released to a regular diet.  No, salad every day for a week and a half straight is not the wisest choice, but I don’t care!  Lettuce!  I never knew just how much I loved plain old iceberg lettuce.  It tastes like freedom.  It really does.  Freedom covered in ranch dressing.

My taste buds are still all messed up, so I still don’t like anything sweet at all, but I’ve gotten used to not eating chocolate or drinking sweet tea.  I do feel a little un-Southern, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  😉  For now, I’m a happy camper to have some more freedom.

Today I went to Dr. McDonald’s office for a quick check-up, and it was really wonderful to see all of my GCS family.  Lots of hugs, even though I’m not supposed to!  And only a 20 minute drive to the doctor!  Needless to say, today is a good day.  It’s really important to have those every once in a while, and I was definitely due for one.  Hopefully all of you are having a good day, too!

8 responses »

  1. I read this post and now I’m having a fabulous day!!!!!!!!! Want to come for a visit!!!!!!!!!! Prayers still coming, sweet friend!!!!!

  2. I just want to climb on the roof and scream out with joy for you Kristi…………………………………………But I had better act my age!  LOL

Leave a Reply

