quick update: high times in hiram

Standard

Yesterday I had my fourth brentuximab treatment.  I also got a copy of my PET scan report.  The brentuximab is working.  The mass in my neck is gone and there are fewer masses in my left breast.  I still have a ways to go, but it’s progress.  Still no word on the next transplant, but I’ll be meeting with that doctor on June 2nd, so hopefully I’ll find out more then.  I’m just hoping to get the summer off.

Since the brentuximab is working, I’m going to stay on it.   The problem this presents is that I’ve had a lot of nausea and vomiting with this chemo and the usual drugs are not working for me, plus their side effects were driving me crazy.  Zofran = constipation, Compazine = constant drowsiness, and scopolamine = blurry vision and dry mouth.  I was planning to just tough it out like morning sickness, but my doctor was not down with that, so I’m trying a new anti nausea drug.  It’s called dronabinol, and it’s a cannabinoid.  That means it’s derived from marijuana.  So if my next post is a little out there, we’ll just blame it on the drugs.  Hopefully it will help with the nausea.  The only bad thing is that it’s supposed to increase my appetite, and I’ve actually lost about 25 pounds over the past few months (partly due to the throwing up and not eating, but still! 25 pounds!).

So that’s the latest update.  Chemo’s working slowly but surely, next transplant is still in the future, and Kristi’s going to start taking pot pills.  Let the good times roll!  🙂

2 responses »

  1. Donnie has been on Benedryl which brought the nausea under control. I continue to pray for you Kristi! I pray for complete cancer free. I sure do admire the way you hang in there in spite of how you feel. You have a strong constitution, and I believe God is going to heal YOU!! What a time of rejoicing in the Lord when your healing happens! To God be the glory!!! I love you, and your sweet family!!

  2. Keep moving forward. And now you can consider yourself and “ole Hippie” with the new pot med.

Leave a Reply

