still here

Standard

Hello friends!

I made it home from the hospital in one piece after two weeks, though I didn’t escape entirely unscathed. I had a fun little bout with cdiff as a result of all the antibiotics I took. I’ll spare you the details of cdiff and just let you google it. It’s as fun as it sounds. Thankfully I’m better now.

My lungs, on the other hand, are still being a pain in the butt. Or a pain in the chest. I’m still coughing, still have inflammation, still on lots of prednisone for the pneumonitis. I’ll see the pulmonary doctor again next week, but my last chest ct looked pretty much the same. It’s just going to take a while to get my lungs back to normal. But these things happen. Chemotherapy has side effects. And unfortunately for me, many of the treatments I do to help save my life try to kill me sometimes. It’s always a game of risk versus benefit. The Opdivo and the radiation helped with the lymphoma, but not so much with the lungs. Such is life.

My stem cell transplant was supposed to be January 6th, but of course that’s all been put on hold. I’ll see the transplant doctor in February and we’ll make a plan then. He still wants to go forward with a transplant, as it’s the only way to really get rid of the lymphoma, but he wants to make sure my body can withstand the associated risks before we do it. My last PET scan showed that there is still some disease activity, but not so much that we can’t wait a little while if we need to.

So that’s where we are right now. Playing the waiting game! Getting fluids to help maintain me and getting puffy and spotty from all the steroids. Fun times! I’ll be sure to update when I have a plan for transplant. Love you all!

5 responses »

  1. Hi Kristi
    You and Bobby and the children are in my daily prayers as you have been for many, many months. You are an amazing woman.
    Much love,
    Sally

  2. So glad you are home. I love all of you and am praying every day. You are an inspiring person and I am glad to have you as a friend.

  3. Well I am getting puffy and spotty,from old age ! Wish you the same. Glad that Bobby and the kids got to run off, but sorry you did not get to join in the festivities. Love the pics. You are putting up a darn good fight! Amazing gal that you are. AMAZING you are! Many thoughts and prayer to you all. I just might have to come up to GA and meet this wonderful lady that Bobby married. But don’t expect me to cook!

Leave a Reply

